Forestry Commission logo
England's Woods & Forests
We are soon to launch our new website for the public forests in England. Take an early look at the beta site

Major tree groups

At Westonbirt Arboretum, there are over 3,000 different types of trees within the tree collection.

Bristol whitebeam champion treeHere's a selection of some of the major tree groups to be found at Westonbirt.


There are approximately 125 species of maples (genus Acer) in the world. Most are native to Asia, but some also occur in Europe, northern Africa, and North America.


Native to many parts of the world, magnolias are a horticultural favourite thanks to their large showy flowers. 


The genus Sorbus (in the rose family Rosaceae) contains about 100 species of trees and shrubs. Sorbus are also known as whitebeam. 


Native to the northern hemisphere, the genus (Quercus) contains several hundred species, including both deciduous and evergreen species.


The beech genus comprises ten species of deciduous tree, native to temperate Europe, Asia, and North America.


The genus (Prunus) is an important group economically, both in commercial fruit production and the horticultural industry.


Holly (Ilex) is the only genus in the family Aquifoliaceae. It contains about 400 species with a wide global distribution.

Horse chestnut

The genus (Aesculus) consists of about 13 deciduous species native to the temperate northern hemisphere. 


Birches (Betula) are small to medium-size trees or shrubs, mostly of northern temperate climates. 


The genus (Tilia) comprises of about 45 species of trees, native throughout most of the temperate northern hemisphere.

Southern Beech

Once thought to be related to beeches, recent research has suggested that southern beeches are actually genetically distinctive and now placed in a family of their own. 


Rhododendron (from the Greek: rhodos, 'rose', and dendron, 'tree') is a large genus with over 800 species in the heather family (Ericaceae).  


Pines (Pinus) are native to most of the northern hemisphere. Evergreen and resinous, many are characterised by thick scaly bark.

Last updated: 1st May 2018

England's Woods and Forests are cared for by Forest Enterprise England, an agency of the Forestry Commission.